Using Reflexive Pronouns

Reflexive pronouns (myself, yourself, ourselves) are used when the subject and object are the same and when you want to emphasize the subject.  For instance, instead of saying “I hurt me,” you would use the reflexive and say “I hurt myself” because the subject and object are the same.  In order to give extra emphasis to who is doing what, you might say “I’ll do it myself” rather than just saying “I’ll do it” because you want to point out that you are the one doing it all by yourself.

http://web2.uvcs.uvic.ca/elc/StudyZone/330/grammar/reflex.htm

www.englishlanguageguide.com/english/grammar/reflexive-pronoun.asp

www.englishclub.com/grammar/pronouns-reflexive.htm

www.english-zone.com/grammar/st-gina.html

Leave a Comment

