Perfect Modals

perfect-just-as-you-arePerfect Modals are used to express events or actions that could have happened in the past, but for whatever reason something occured that altered that possibility.  For instance: “I should have locked my car doors, but I didn’t so my purse was stolen.”  You can also use them in the negative form: “I shouldn’t have left my car doors unlocked, then my purse wouldn’t have been stolen.” 

Perfect Modals include: could have; should have; would have; must have; might have; may have; and ought to have.

www.myenglishzone.com/Resources/Resources4.htm

www.geocities.com/ericsquire/grammar/modals3.htm

www.esl-classroom.com/grammar/perfmodals1.html

www.esl-classroom.com/grammar/perfmodals2.html

www.learnamericanenglishonline.com/Yellow%20Level/Y12%20Perfect%20Modals.html

Leave a Comment

